Studio Portraits with Strobes and Gels

The subject is lit with a warm, orange light and a cool, blue light. I think this was done to achieve a happy side and a sadder side in one photo. The portrait itself is fairly simple and the subject is purposefully not fully lit. I think the photographer wanted to show the happy and joyful side of a person, as well as the sad and vulnerable side. The subject has a very wistful expression as if she is deep in thought. I like that the photographer used contrasting colors but lighter and not as bright versions of it. It makes the photo itself look a bit more dramatic. The lights are sort of the only source of color in the picture. That being said, I think it was purposefully done to really express the happy and sad emotions. The rest of the picture is dark, while the colored lights are the only thing that lights up the subjects face. The portrait makes it look like there are two personalities or two sides to the subject. This can be representative to our change in emotions. People are described as being very hot and cold and I think the photographer was trying to portray that. I like that the photographer used two different types of face lighting on the subject. It adds more detail to the picture itself. The subject, while not very expressive, portrays these two emotions well. I like that this photo can be interpreted in many different ways. The simpleness of the photo makes it really artistic. Personally, this photo leaves me wondering about the different types of techniques that the photographer used. While it may look simple, I am sure that it in technical terms, it is not so simple to capture.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *